Carroll EMC Names 2020 Lineman School Scholarship Recipients

Caden Raines is one of eight Carroll EMC lineman school scholarship winners. Photos provided by Carroll EMC.

Carrollton, GA—Carroll Electric Membership Cooperative has selected eight local individuals as the 2020 recipients of the Lineman School Scholarships. Carl Cooke, Wynston Denney, Zeb Hand, Jake Harrod, Brystol Phillips, Caden Raines, Benjamin Ranger and Nathan Urquhart were awarded scholarships to attend a lineman school in Georgia. 

Carl Cooke
Brystol Phillips

The winners were required to submit an essay explaining why they want to be lineman, submit two letters of recommendation and complete an interview with the scholarship selection team. The scholarships cover tuition, textbooks and other related institutional fees and are available up to 24 months after award date. In addition to the scholarship, the award winners are paired with a lineman mentor from Carroll EMC.

Wynston Denney
Zeb Hand

For Urquhart, his aspiration of becoming a lineman is one he has pursued diligently. He will attend North Georgia Technical College (NGTC) in Clarkesville.  

“Receiving this scholarship gives me the opportunity to pursue a lifelong dream,” said Urquhart. “I have always been interested in line work, and this scholarship will help take away the financial pressure attending lineman school presents.”

Nathan Urquhart

Linework is more than just a job. It is a way life, and Harrod understands that being a safe and dedicated lineman yields admirable values. He will also attend NGTC. 

“This scholarship is a tremendous first step toward a career that will define my future,” explained Harrod. “A future that I feel will mold me into the man that I strive to be: hard working, productive and able to provide for a family.”

Jake Harrod

Phillips, Raines and Ranger plan to join the two, along with Cooke who has already begun courses, at NGTC. Denney and Hand will attend the Southeast Lineman Training Center in Trenton, GA. 

Caden Raines
Benjamin Ranger

Carroll EMC is a Member-owned cooperative providing electricity to approximately 50,000 homes and businesses. The co-op serves Members in Carroll, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk, Floyd and Troup counties. This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer. For more information visit the cooperative’s website at or follow Carroll EMC on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest, Instagram and LinkedIn. Carroll EMC: Community Built. Community Builder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.